By statute, AHFA is governed by a Board of Directors that provides policy direction, authorizes bond issues and program development, and evaluates AHFA's efforts. Its members serve staggered seven-year terms. The governor appoints one person from each of the seven congressional districts — two home builders, two real estate brokers, a lender, a mayor and a county commissioner —  and one person from the state at large. The lieutenant governor and speaker of the house each appoint two members. The state finance director, treasurer and superintendent of banks serve as ex officio members.

AHFA Board Members:

Shelton E. Allred, Chairman

Ted B. Watts, Vice Chairman

Robert L. Smith, Secretary/Treasurer

Jennifer P. Autrey

Young Boozer, ex officio
Clinton Carter, ex officio 

Blake Corder

Thomas R. Doyal 

Greg Henderson

Bobby Herndon

Mike Hill, ex officio

Ray Long

Carolyn Norman

Michael C. Toles

Peter M. Weiss

© 2023 Alabama Housing Finance Authority | Powered by In10sity